Being arrested while driving under the influence of alcohol is much more than an ordinary traffic ticket. Oklahoma DUI laws are among the strictest in the nation and those accused of DUI in Oklahoma have much at stake. Don’t assume you can handle your DUI defense on your own. You need an experienced Oklahoma DUI attorney specializing the Oklahoma’s complex legal system surrounding DUI.
The Deveraux Law Firm is located in Purcell, Oklahoma and serves the Oklahoma City metro area as well as southern Oklahoma—including Norman, Purcell, Lexington, Newcastle and Paul’s Valley.
The test used to determine your level of intoxication, be it a breathalyzer, a field sobriety, or a blood test, all affect your legal rights and defense strategies. These seemingly trivial difference can vastly affect the outcome of your case and only an experienced Oklahoma DUI attorney has the legal knowledge to ensure your rights are protected. The attorney’s at The Deveraux Law Firm are experts in Oklahoma DUI law and know how to finesse these technicalities for your benefit.
Oklahoma DUI Punishments: What You Could Be Facing If Convicted
Oklahoma DUI sentences are among the harshest in the nation. Driving under the influence of alcohol can be classified as a felony or a misdemeanor depending on the blood alcohol content of the driver, age, the location of the arrest, the defendant’s prior DUI convictions and weather or not there was a traffic accident involved. Only an experienced Oklahoma DUI lawyer can advise you on the particular maximum sentence of your particular case, but below are some general sentencing guidelines.
First Oklahoma DUI Offense
First time DUI offenders in Oklahoma may face a possible sentence including:
- Incarceration: 5 days – 1 year
- Fine: Up to $1,000 (plus additional mandatory fees.
- License Suspension: Up to one year
Second Oklahoma DUI Offense
- Incarceration: Up to 5 years
- Fine: Up to $2,500 (plus additional mandatory fees)
- License suspension: Up to one year
Does an Oklahoma DUI charge mean I’m going to lose my license?
As part of the Oklahoma DUI process, the State of Oklahoma’s Department of Public Safety will initiate proceedings to terminate your driving privileges. This action from the state is completely separate from your criminal case.
Within 15 days from your arrest, you must request and administrative hearing at DPS at which time your Oklahoma DUI attorney will go before the panel and defend your right to operate a motor vehicle. If a hearing is not requested within 15 days following your arrest, an automatic suspension will be issued and you will lose your right to contest the loss of your driving privileges.
You don’t have to brave the DPS hearing alone. Your DUI defense attorney at The Deveraux Law Firm will represent you at your administrative hearing ensuring your rights are protected.
Our team of Oklahoma DUI defense lawyers has a proven track record of protecting our client’s rights following a DUI. Call us as soon as you are arrested so we can begin preparing your DUI defense strategy that will be imperative to getting your life back to normal.